CTA IN THE NEWS: RMC breaks ground on new science building

By: Travis Estvold
13 April 2016

A group including administrators from Rocky Mountain College, staff from general contractor Dick Anderson Construction, and designers from CTA’s Billings office was on hand for a groundbreaking ceremony at the four-year private school on Saturday. The ceremonial event hails the kickoff of a capital campaign for the impACT Today Transform Tomorrow initiative. The initial phase includes a new three-story, 32,972 sq. ft. science building and a $2 million enhancement of Herb Klindt Field.

From billingsgazette.com:
The new science building will be located just to the west of the Bair Science Center, said Kelly Edwards, vice president for Institutional Advancement at the four-year private college. Originally, talks focused on expanding the current science building. “Through the planning phase we realized it would be more cost-effective and make more sense to create a new, stand-alone building,” Edwards said.

Because the footprint of the new building juts out onto the football practice field, that required relocation of the practice field. Instead, a decision was made to upgrade the stadium, re-stabilizing the bowl, as well as adding artificial turf and lights. The new science building will include 19,000 sq. ft. of finished labs and 14,000 sq. ft. of unfinished space that will be developed during phase two of the initiative. READ MORE.

CTA began working with Rocky Mountain College on improvements to the Bair Science Center in 2005, and teams have previously been involved on several other projects on campus. “Every student at Rocky will experience the new building through their science classes,” project manager Shannon Christensen said. “The goals of the project include recruitment and retention of students and faculty, providing students with the best possible education, and providing a better place for the faculty to work.”

Main image: CTA attendees at the groundbreaking included (L to R) Tyler Mortenson, Maggie Hardt, Shaun Ostermiller, Shannon Christensen, Jim Beal, and Dayton Rush.



Write a comment